President Ram Nath Kovind confers Padma awards in Rashtrapati Bhawan

 The prestigeous Padma Awards were conferred ceremony in new delhi. President Ram Nath Kovind presented the Padma Awards in Rashtrapati Bhawan on Monday. The awards are one of the highest civilian honours presented annually by the government of India. 119 Padma Awards were presented including seven Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards. PV Sindhu, Kangana Ranaut, Rani Rampal, Air Marshal Dr Padma Bandopadhyay (Retd),  SP Balasubrahmanyam (posthumously) are among the recipients. Padma Awards, it is one of the highest civilian honours of India, which is announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. 

Padma Sri, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan Awards List 2021

The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher-order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service). The Padma Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. And the Padma Bhushan awards are given for distinguished service of a high order. President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi with the Padma awardees at Rashtrapati Bhavan. It is a proud moment. 

I am thankful to Govt of India.  These kind of awards give us a lot of encouragement, support and motivation. I have some upcoming tournaments, I  will give my best in them: Olympian badminton player PV Sindhu on receiving Padma Bhushan award Captain of the women's hockey team Rani Rampal, who led the team in the recent Tokyo Olympics, being conferred the Padma Shri award 2020. Air Marshal Dr Padma Bandopadhyay (Retd) received the Padma Shri award today in the field of medicine. She is India's first woman Air Marshal. Kindest tribute to George Fernandes, Shri Shri Vishwesha Theertha Swamiji & Sir Anerood Jugnauth on being recognized with the prestigious Padma Vibhushan posthumously. 119 Padma Awards will be presented by President this year. 

The list comprises 7 Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards. 29 of the awardees are women, 16 Posthumous awardees and 1 transgender awardee. Their distinguished service & welfare work will remain immensely inspirational. Jitender Singh Shunty, founder of Shaheed Bhagat Singh Seva Dal who cremated thousands of bodies during the #COVID19 pandemic & was conferred the Padma Shri, said that the award is not only for him but for everyone who supported him in continuing his work even during the crisis. Former External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj awarded the Padma Vibhushan award posthumously. Her daughter Bansuri Swaraj receives the award. Awards for  Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service). 

Bandopadhyay is a decorated former flight surgeon on Indian Air Force. She was the first woman to be promoted to the level of Air Marshal in IAF and the second woman in the Indian Armed Forces to be promoted to a three-star rank, after surgeon Vice Admiral Punita Arora. Bandopadhyay joined the Indian Air Force in 1968. She was the first woman to become a Fellow of the Aerospace Medical Society of India and the first Indian woman to conduct scientific research at the North Pole. Not just this, she was the first woman Armed Forces officer to have completed the Defence Service Staff College course in 1978. 

undefined admin

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post